Where have I disappeared to now?

Are you mad at me?

I’m kind of mad at me.

It’s probably not as big of a deal for you as it was for me, but I was blogging faithfully every day, for about five days, then I suddenly careened off the edge of a cliff and disappeared.  At least, that’s how it seemed to me.  I spent a lot of time stressing over when I was going to get back to blogging, and whether you guys would think my blog any the worse for my unexplained disappearance.  Little-miss-people-pleaser, that’s me.  (Not really.)

And when I finally do give you guys a post to “read”, there’s not a single word on it!  Just pictures!  That’s kind of weird for someone who calls herself a writer, isn’t it?

I admit it: something was keeping me from posting.  And that was a little something I like to call who wants to read about some crazy introverted girl who, at the moment, is spending all of her time locked up in a dark shed with her laptop, thunking on the keyboard for hours on end?

Well, you, apparently, because you’re here. 🙂

I mentioned on my “About” page that my passions tend to “come and go in terms of degrees of intensity”.  Sometimes these coming and goings last for months on end; other times, I’ll cycle off to some new kick practically every day.  Right now, my current “kick” is definitely novelling.  Oh, if you’re only here for the food photography, by all means, stick around, because I’ll be back to that shortly, I’m sure.  But, as I mentioned, I am now spending practically every waking moment in “The Shed”.

Allow me to elaborate.  We had “The Shed” installed in our yard about a month ago.  It is, as the name would suggest, a shed, with two convenient stories.  The first, lower story, houses things that a storage shed would typically house–a lawn mower, a tool rack, some basketballs, foldup lawn chairs, etc.  The upper half, though, is currently crammed with a host of notebooks (why do I have more than one yet never seem to be able to find any of them?), pencils, erasers, USB flash drives, little baggies of trail mix (hey, a writer’s gotta have fuel), and some of my favorite writing quotes tacked onto the ceiling (which, incidentally, isn’t very high).  This is because I’ve been pulling what I call “marathon” sessions, because it makes me sound athletic.  Lately I have been known to disappear into “The Shed” for as much as four hours on end, usually averaging about 3,000-4,000 words a session.  This is a fast pace for me, once you take into account all my deleting and pondering and mulling and just generally fussing about.  Then staring at an ultra-bright screen in the otherwise pitch darkness makes my retinas protest and I clamber down the ladder, at least for an hour or two.

I am SO GLAD I discovered “The Shed” for a writing environment.  No Internet Connection + No Birds, brother, or other producers of annoying sounds = Much Productivity.  Just me and my notebook, my pencil, and Microsoft Word.  In fact, I can’t recall a time where I’ve ever been this pumped about my book.

My evil lair.  Mwoo-hahaha.

Hmm.  Something about the camera flash makes it look less D&D&D (deep and dark and dangerous) than it does when I’m writing in it.  But it is a long way down…


So, that was the long explanation of why I hadn’t posted in the while.  The short explanation is that I’m going insane and am currently inhabiting a faraway planet, I’ll get back to you shortly.  I hope you got your fill of words in this post.  There’ll be another one tomorrow, I promise.

3 thoughts on “Where have I disappeared to now?

  1. I love the idea that you have a hidey hole to write in. Makes it feel romantic like it’s supposed to be. Me? I write on the coach, in the early and late hours and when my daughter naps on the days I when I watch her. Sounds less romantic; I need a tree house or something.

  2. Pingback: Slammin’ | The Girl In The Orange

  3. Pingback: July | The Girl In The Orange

What say you?

