Didn’tcha Miss Me?: A Conglomeration of Food Photos, Explanations, a Recipe and Recipe Pending

Happy September 16, folks!  Holy cow, how are we halfway through this month already??  I need to start dreaming up my Monthly Recap…what have I done this month?

I am sorry my posts were a little late this week, but, I DO have an explanation!!

Here it is:

The Girl in the Orange has a cold.

Not just any cold, either.  This really sucks.  Really, REALLY sucks.  I mean, I’ve got the whole works: sniffle, sore throat, nasal and chest congestion, wicked fever, weak and achey body, general crappiness.  The worst part is that the bulk of this cold, the awful phase, the crying phase, the not-able-to-breathe-through-mouth phase, the freezing-at-my-core-and-sweltering-everywhere-else phase, the I’m-so-delirious-with-fever-I’m-singing-about-sticks phase, happened during a school-wide camp I went to earlier this week.  I was pretty miserable.  Coughing out my lungs and still determined to participate in all the activities.  When my cold got too much to bear, I huddled up in my sleeping bag in my cabin.  A teacher found a nurse practitioner to stay with me.  She gave me Tylenol and swiped herbal tea from the “adults-only” stash of hot beverages for me.  People are too nice..!  I felt like such a burden; I really shouldn’t have come to camp.  But I really do appreciate all the kind things people did for me when I was in the grips of this nasty, nasty virus.

This is children’s Mucinex, because it’s way less stressful to take than the adult stuff and comes in Orange Creme Flavor.  Shot with my point-and-shoot; sorry.

The little glob of mucus sliding down the medicine trail on the front totally makes me feel dainty and ladylike.  (I kid, I kid!)

This is my dad’s “horay-I’m-sick-too” stash of gummy bears.  This bag was full yesterday afternoon.  Truth.

Vegetarians cannot eat gummy bears.  Gummy bears are made of gelatin.  Gelatin is made from boiling hooves and cartilage and shtuff.  Gelatin bad.


I eat oranges instead.  Hello, Vitamin C!

So, yeah, I’m sick, definitely not running-ready, so I’m mostly lounging around the house doing small jobs and writing and trying to be productive (I fail most of the time).  But, in all my free time now, I had time to fiddle around with a new recipe until it was blog-ready!  I also am busy putting the finishing touches on a “Breakfast Dreamsicle Smoothie” that is in the works incorporating almond milk or yogurt, oatmeal, and orange juice.  Somebody has probably done this before.  Don’t tell me about it.  I want to develop a new recipe for myself!

These are both breakfast recipes…I find that sweet breakfast recipes are generally harder to mess up than, say, a curry.  Though curries do have their time and place.  They’re just so much harder to photograph than sweet things!!

See what I mean?  Not terribly delicious-looking.

Bad-quality photo, bad-quality icing job, still delicious.  Desserts are incredibly forgiving.  Something about the implied presence of some sort of sugar makes photos pop.

Without further ado, here is my recipe for “Pumpkin Whip Oatmeal” that I created last Monday with the remnants of a can of pumpkin puree.  I find it very fitting that the first recipe to appear on this blog should incorporate both oatmeal (one of my reasons for existence) and the color orange…

Pumpkin Whip Oatmeal

makes 1 serving

Ingredients:

1/4 c. dry steel cut oatmeal

1/4 c. (or more, if you really love it) pumpkin puree

3/4 c. plain greek yogurt

1 tablespoon blackstrap molasses

A lot of cinnamon (I just dumped it on there, so I’d say maybe about half a tablespoon?  You can cut it down though…I have a cinnamon problem.)

2 pinches ginger

1 pinch nutmeg

Directions:

1.  Cook the steel-cut oats in “I’m a student, you think I’m going to have enough time in the morning to actually boil oats for half an hour?” fashion.  (This means combining your oats with the appropriate amount of water the night before and bringing it to a boil for a few minutes.  Then shut the stove off, cover the pan, and push it off of the hot burner.  In the morning add a little splash of milk and reheat it over the burner just until warm.)

2.  Transfer your oats to a bowl of some sort.  Not that I ever eat things out of the pan…

3.  Stir in pumpkin and yogurt.

4. Drizzle with molasses and stir in the spices.

5.  Realize as you are enjoying your creation that you should probably have taken a picture of it for your blog, but, as it’s 6:30 on a Monday morning, setting up a food photo shoot is completely out of the question.

Happy Fall to all!  Hold the Great Pumpkin near and dear to all of your hearts, and I will see you back soon with my Dreamsicle smoothie.

What say you?

