Breakfast Creamsicle Smoothie

Yes, I know I promised to share this recipe with you guys earlier this week, and I should have, seeing how I actually perfected it on Tuesday morning, but life got in the way.  I really can’t apologize.

I really want a T-shirt, or maybe one whole wall of my room, saying “Life happens”  to remind myself to take each day by the reigns and breathe.

So, yes, life happened–remember to breathe–but now I finally get to share my oatmeal-orange smoothie concoction with you guys!  You could stop breathing now, if you so choose.

As I have mentioned in past posts, I am a big fan of all things citrusy–hence The Girl in the Orange.  This love certainly does not exclude frozen novelty desserts.  My favorite sweet treats as a wee sprite were all frozen, and I especially liked root beer floats, turtle sundaes, hot fudge sundaes, mint chocolate chip ice cream, Bear Claw ice cream (a total love affair!..for another post), Dairy Queen Cheesequake and Kit-kat blizzards, and, of course, Creamsicles.  Somehow I didn’t weigh 5 thousand pounds!  Nowadays I prefer healthier indulgences, but if it’s a special occasion I certainly don’t mind digging into a hot fudge brownie sundae.  Mmmm.

Creamsicles hold a deeper meaning for me, as well–one of my happiest memories in the few weeks before moving was hanging out with my friends on the school soccer field, slurping away at delightfully orangey Creamsicles.  I miss them so much.  (Friends, not creamsicles.  You can buy those here too.)

I had been toying with the idea of a Creamsicle I could drink for breakfast for a long time, and, coupled with my recent cold and, by extension, our surplus of oranges, last week was the perfect time!

Breakfast Creamsicle Smoothie

makes 1 nice tall smoothie

Ingredients:

1 batch SOLID overnight oats (recipe follows)

1 cup orange juice (I used freshly-squeezed–so much sweeter!)

1/2 frozen banana

2 tsp orange zest

1/4 cup greek yogurt

Directions:

Um, blend them together.  In a blender.  Hopefully this was rather self-explanatory.

Solid overnight oats:

Mix together 1/2 cup old-fashioned (rolled) oats, about .8 cup vanilla almond milk, a splash of vanilla extract, and 1.5 tablespoon chia seeds in a reusable, sealable container.  Seal and place in the refrigerator overnight, or for at least a hour and a half.

This mixture uses a lot of oats and chia seeds and not much liquid, so it will be VERY THICK in the morning with no liquid left over.  This is okay, as it will make your smoothie nice and thick!  If you like thinner smoothies, though, you can omit the greek yogurt in the smoothie or add more liquid to the overnight oats.

Notes on this smoothie: the orange zest is very important in this recipe as it really lets the flavor of the orange shine through!  If for some reason you have orange juice but not zest, you can probably sub in a LITTLE splash of orange extract.

Also, this smoothie will not be orange.  Just warning you.  Creamsicles get that appetizing sunrise hue from a whole truckload of artificial colors, but in this smoothie the milk and shtuff will overpower the orangeness of the orange and it will be white and frothy.  Trust me, though, it still tastes orange and it still tastes good.

Enjoy this lovely Autumn weekend while it lasts!  Monday seems so daunting…

What say you?

