First 2 Cross-Country Races…

I lost.

15th out of 21 girls, some of whom were four years younger than me.  1 mile in 9 minutes, 2 seconds on the first race.  A mile in 8:33 on the next.

I couldn’t be happier!

Sure, yeah, an eight-and-a-half-minute mile isn’t the shiniest time.  But this represents so much for me!  Can you believe that I have shaved a good four minutes off of my mile time since only two years ago?  Before I went vegetarian and started focusing more on my health, I was profoundly unfit.

Running is such an amazing sport for me because at the end of the day, you don’t have to be the fastest or the strongest.  All that matters is that you beat yourself.  I’m not really the ‘long and lean’ type that makes for a speedy runner, but heck yeah, I’m proud of an 8:33 mile!

If there is one thing running has taught me, it is that if you are willing to invest the time and effort, you can do anything.  I mean it.  Anything.   You have to want it pretty badly, but your mind is so dang powerful that you with the right amount of umph you can move mountains.  This has made me so much more confident in realms that I have never really considered my forte–art, sports, patience, etc.  I can proudly state that since I started running “for real” two months ago, I have been continually whooping my own booty on a weekly basis.  Personal accomplishments are huge for me.  I look forward to seeing my future mile times as well!

I am loving running so much that I signed up for my first 5k in November!  No, I certainly probably won’t finish first in my age group, but working myself harder and harder feels so good.  Even after skipping a grade, I feel that most of my scholarly endeavors aren’t extremely challenging for me.  But I have never been the strongest athlete, and running gives me a challenge that I can thrive on and conquer.  I am already excited and nervous for the my 5k even as I compete in the smaller multi-school local races.

What say you?

