Sunshine, in my inbox, makes me happy…

Due to the immense avalanche of homework and obligations I have been buried under this past week, I haven’t been blogging much.  Or cooking or food photographing (is that a word?) or writing or running.  There just isn’t enough time in the week–and when there is, it’s raining sideways.  Yes, sideways.  Sometimes it also rains so hard that it bounces back up and looks like it’s raining from the ground up.  We are experiencing dual-direction rain and as an ecosystem we kind of need it but as someone with mild self-diagnosed seasonal affective disorder I don’t need it.  Come on, what happened to the extended summer?

At 9 this morning I was busy working on a history assignment, but kept getting distracted by the lovely cascade of “helicopter seeds” pinwheeling from the sky in final exuberant leaps of faith.  I started writing a poem and then realized that it actually wasn’t raining!  I haven’t ran since last Wednesday, so I said carpe diem and pulled on my running stuff before it started up again.

I got in twenty minutes before, sure enough, it did start up again.  But imagine my happy surprise when I resigned myself to the downpour, snuggled up with my laptop, and checked my email.  I have been nominated for the WordPress “Sunshine Award” by the equally sunshiney bird slave from Students with Birds!  I’m kinda a bird nerd, and so I really enjoy reading her blog and literally laughing out loud about how she describes some aspects of avian living.  They’re so true and totally hilarious!! ******************************************************************************************************************************************************** The Sunshine Award is to award ‘bloggers who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere.’ The rules are as follows:

1.  Thank the person who gave you this award and write a post about it.

2.  Answer the questions below.

3.  Pass on the award to 5-10 fabulous bloggers, link their blogs, and let them know!

Here it is:

Favorite color– Um…how can you even ask this?  Have you read any  of my posts?  Or even seen my blog header?

It’s green.

(Totally kidding!) ;P  I seriously hope you already know the answer to that though.

Favorite animal – Most all types of birds, but especially pelicans, corvids (ravens, jays, crows, etc.), and cockatiels.

Favorite number – 225.  I’m not entirely sure why–but it’s such a nice, clean number, when you think about it.  Fifteen squared.

Favorite drink –  Can I say this without sounding like the lamest person on the planet?  Milk.  I like vanilla flavored milk and chocolate malts too.  All manner of smoothies, teas, and cocoas are also appreciated.

Facebook or Twitter – Are you kidding me?  I spend WAY too much time on blogging and email already.  Neither, for me.

Your passion(s) – Oh, good, I actually have this one predetermined: birds, food, food photography, blogging, writing, and writing and performing poetry.

Giving or getting presents – Giving–but I’m awful at keeping secrets.  The excitement!  Most of the time the recipient finds out what the gift is about two months beforehand because I keep dropping a million subtle hints.

Favorite day – I’d like to be all awesome and mimic Students with Birds on this one and say “One where I’m breathing”…but, really, I guess my birthday, Christmas Eve, the first day of school, Christmas itself.  Weekends. ❤

Favorite flowers – Roses–elegant and intricate at once.  Particularly orange roses.

My nominees – blogs I love:

goobernutslife.wordpress.com

busyhandsandasweettooth.wordpress.com

storiesandsweetpotatoes.com

avocadoandbasil.wordpress.com

thehungryartist.wordpress.com

*****************************************************************************************************************

And thanks so much for the nomination!  I have to admit, I wasn’t very “sunshiney”, unbeknownst to you guys. when I was so busy shooting virtual daggers from my eyes at bloggers who had already received such prestigious awards.  I have jealousy issues… 😉

2 thoughts on “Sunshine, in my inbox, makes me happy…

  1. Pingback: Sunshine in My Week: Cross Country, Awards, PRs, ODYSSEY– DONE! | Goober Nut's Life

What say you?

