Novelties in Life

Hola, members of the blogosphere!  This post comes to you LIVE from Thanksgiving Break, as I stand in the kitchen with my laptop making garlic rolls, musing about everything at once and nothing in particular, and trying to remind myself to stop eating the garlic bread before it can make it to the feast tomorrow.  Bon appetit!

So, yes, I have a day of break all to myself today, because my school lets you off for vacation THE DAY BEFORE Thanksgiving,  but Little Bro’s does not.  😉  Ah, sweet revenge!  (Not revenge for anything in particular, mind you–just general customary sibling rivalry.)

I know during Thanksgiving most people are taking the time to sit around and think about the huge, awesome blessings they have in life and realize where they would be without them.  Which is good; very good.  But I’ve already kind of done this, and I don’t want my posts to start turning too sentimental–so I think “the little things in life” deserve their chance in the “what I’m grateful for” spotlight too, dontcha think?

Things that somehow just tickle you to death, even though they have no significant impact on your quality of life.

Things like the fact that you can now make pancakes in the shape of Mickey Mouse.

Things like the fact that we have a milkman who delivers two gallons of white, a quart of chocolate, and a dozen eggs every week.  There’s something so delightfully old-timey about that.

Things like sweet, carby breakfasts.

Lately I’m all about pancakes, overnight oats, and baked oatmeal!  I had never had baked oatmeal before, but after trying Vanilla Pecan Baked Oatmeal from Peanut Butter Fingers, I think you can consider me an addict.  (If you’re interested in making this, the best toppings are homemade almond butter and banana, followed closely by a “glaze” or swirling of vanilla greek yogurt.  Just FYI.  It’s also mind-blowing plain!!)

(Also, you guys, I just realized how grotesque the pancakes I posted pictures of in my last post looked.  Lol! 🙂  Totally did NOT consider that normal pancakes aren’t completely covered in air bubbles, nor do they usually have big unidentifiable brown splotches in the middle of them [it’s chocolate peanut butter!].  When I plate pancakes, though, I flip them to their non-pretty underside just to check that they’re done, and didn’t even think of how weird it would make photos look!)

Um…

Things like the fact that I have a mild puncture wound in the middle of my nose due to one ill-place “scritch” on my cockatiel’s head.  Oh, he’s big on revenge.  Thank goodness no one’s started calling me Rudolph.

Things like the fact that, when it isn’t pouring rain, we’ve actually been having some decent weather here.  Having grown up in the thick of the midwest, snow was usually blanketing the world by Halloween.  I miss it.  I really, really do.  But I’m also fairly certain that I wouldn’t be able to even think about running in it.

Things like the fact that, um, hello, I shaped garlic bread into knots today!  Tee-hee.

Are you feeling knotty or nice? 😉

Things like the fact that, now that a literary agency visit is on the horizon, I have an excuse to write all day long.  Never mind that I haven’t exactly done that.  Thanksgiving prep for a foodie=serious business!

Things like hot soup and warm oats and tea.

Novelties.

Not to be confused with my ‘noveling tea’. Completely different idea. 😉
A splash of milk takes Sleepytime Vanilla tea to a sublime level, plus I feel all sophisticated, like I’m drinking a latte.

Here I’m just about to go to sleep on Thanksgiving Eve, but Happy Thanksgiving to all of you in different time zones!  It feels like the East Coast is where the majority of bloggers are. 🙂

What say you?

