2012; hey, that was fun

Happy New Year!!!

So, did you guys stay up until midnight last night?

…I…went to bed at 8:30 didn’t.

Let’s just say I’m a striking example of what sufficient beauty sleep will do to a gal, mmkay? ūüėČ

And now for something massive: for the first time in The Girl in the Orange history, I get to do a YEARLY recap! ¬†(As opposed to my plethora of regular Monthly Recaps.) ¬†Granted, I’ve only blogged for five months in 2012–but I¬†lived through all of it, and as it is now 2013, I think it deserves a little soft reminiscing.

Here it is!:

One YEAR of The Girl in the Orange in terms of…

…food:

Um, I think I “developed”¬†four “recipes” this year?? ¬†And they all had to do with oats…what does this say about my character? ūüėČ (Don’t answer that; it says nothing. ¬†Nothing, apart form the fact that I love oats.) ¬†I think I’m most proud of my Birthday Cake Baked Oatmeal, but that may be because it’s the most recent and because I got to use my new orange camera to photograph it. ¬†It feels strangely independent.

In other foodie realms, I had some mishaps

as well as some mind-blowing successes.

What can I say? ¬†I’m blessed enough to eat three five¬†square¬†meals a day and the eatin’s good. ¬†I’ve been cooking on my own since March 2011; but when my food became public by means of this blog, 2012 became more of a year to stretch my wings and gather skills and confidence in the kitchen. ¬†(I even finally mastered pancakes!! ūüėÄ ¬†Everyone else says they’re so easy…:(. ¬†They lie!)

…photography:

Cheesecake 085

017

072

003

Cheesecake 091

Christmas 2012 096

2 Baked Oatmeal 033

Dramatic Tea and Birthday Cake Baked Oatmeal 015

My favorite food photos of the year. ¬†(You knew my chocolate header one would be in there, didn’t you?) ;P

Dramatic Tea and Birthday Cake Baked Oatmeal 003

You guys didn’t see this one; but over the holiday break I was having mucho fun playing with the “selective coloring” feature of my new camera! ¬†This is a mug of blueberry tea, slowly brewing…it’s quite dramatic, non?

024

099

035

Smile, Stitch!

Smile, Stitch!

Dog photos as well. ¬†Don’t tell me you can look at that last one without cracking a grin.

…writing and poetry:

That’s right; since this is a YEARLY recap, you get a BONUS category!

I’m in a MUCH better place emotionally this year than I was last year; consequentially, my poetry went¬†waaay downhill this year! ¬†You know what they say: bad times make for good writing. ¬†I found this to be true. ¬†Now that I’m happy I can’t write anything.

But I HAVE started making things I wrote last year more public–I started a Figment account this month (user The Girl in the Orange), for one thing. ¬†As I near (or, just, you know, kind of generally approach) the end of my novel, I’m really focusing on making my work more public–according to literary attorney publishing saint, establishing a formidable online presence is a very good way to attract the attention of potential publishers.

(To any potential publishers reading this: Hi! ¬†I am working on a “Novel” page for this blog with a detailed summary of my work-in-progress, so check back soon!)

AND, I wrote a grand total of over 110,000 words on my novel this year (mostly all in the course of the last five months), and of that I am proud. ¬†It’s not STAGGERINGLY EXCESSIVE, but considering all the other things I was doing (cough cough private school homework, cough cough), I still think that’s acceptable.

…things that made me smile:

Well, I got my hair chopped off.HAIR! 004

HAIR! 007

Big leap, that I’m so glad I took. ¬†(And don’t worry–I shaved the back of my neck after these pictures were taken!) ūüėČ

AAND, I ran my first 5k! ¬†While not a major distance compared to the insane lengths other people run (ultramarathoners, I’m alookin’ at you), it was a big accomplishment for me.

There was one other HUGE lovely in the past year for me, but I’m not quite emotionally ready to post about that yet. ūüôā ¬†Let me just say that 2012 was an emotional renewal, of sorts, and I am so much better off now.

And The Girl in the Orange 2012 report is here! ¬†Click below and see all the awesomeness that was the past year (why on earth did I bother to recap it all?). ¬†I find it funny that one of the search engine terms that led people to me most was “mickey mouse pancake mold”… ūüėČ ¬†Here, I’ll humor you. ¬†One more picture.Disney 035

2012 blog report (compiled by “WordPress stats helper monkeys” ): Here’s an excerpt:

The new Boeing 787 Dreamliner can carry about 250 passengers. This blog was viewed about 1,300 times in 2012. If it were a Dreamliner, it would take about 5 trips to carry that many people.

Click here to see the complete report.

Ahh, sweet 2012. ¬†Such nice reminiscences. ¬†I imagine I’ll do a resolution post later on the week, but for now it’s pretty nice to enjoy soft fuzzies, and eat cake for breakfast. ¬†Scratch that, that’s¬†always nice, right?

One thought on “2012; hey, that was fun

What say you?

