Lately

Hiatus 

Hey everyone!  Apologies for the 5-day bloggus hiatus.  I was kinda feelin’ the burnout from the last week of intensely thought-laden, everyday posting, and I also had some amazing(ly stressful) things going on in my life, mainly in academics.

Blogging is PART of living for me, but if I don’t take time to LIVE OUTSIDE of blogging, then my blog suffers, ya hear me? 🙂

So, I took a week for myself, to get things all straightened out and work on that living part of my life.  I didn’t log onto my laptop for the week, not even to check my email (gasp!).  So that was awesome.

But now I’m back, if only to inform you of my potential further absence.  😉

Testing, testing…

So, you see, I’m off on a little trip to try to secure myself a scholarship from a fancy-shmancy school.  It’s going to be great and nerve-wracking and hopefully a little fun, and it may or may not render me too brain-dead to blog once I get back.  I’ll do my best, though–I’ve got some workout posts in store! 🙂  (As well as some more writing-related posts…gosh, who knew?)

088

Brain Food

One of my favorite speedy dinners, especially on jam-packed study nights (that also happens to be loaded with omega-3's!!) is kale sauteed with a clove of garlic in extra virgin olive oil, topped with a fried egg, and usually with some sort of grain (quinoa, brown rice, etc.) thrown in.  I'm pretty sure I could eat this every day for the rest of my life--it's quick, EASY, comforting, nutritious, and delicious.

One of my favorite speedy dinners, especially on jam-packed study nights (that also happens to be loaded with omega-3’s!!) is kale sauteed with a clove of garlic in extra virgin olive oil, topped with a fried egg, and usually with some sort of grain (quinoa, brown rice, etc.) thrown in. I’m pretty sure I could eat this every day for the rest of my life–it’s quick, EASY, comforting, nutritious, and delicious.

All this week I’ve been desperately upping my intake of Omega-3’s, both because of their potential benefits to mah joints as well as their benefits to brain function, which may or may not be purely psychosomatic, but, hey, whatever works!  (It also doesn’t hurt if they come in the form of chocolate pudding, which I’ve been regularly downing also. 😛  Still in incredible awe over how appetizing Angela Liddon can make brown food look.  I need to jump back on the food photography/recipe developing bandwagon, stat!!)

What say you?

