Marvelous in My Monday: Que Será, Será

I am having an unabashedly awesome week.  (I’m sort of lumping in the past few days, as well as anticipation for the weekend, into it as well; not just saying that because Monday’s barely begun.) 😉  And this has been something of a rarity lately, so I really think we should commemorate it.

*cue streamers and confetti and strobe lights and music–anyone wanna make me a cake?*

I’m also not thinking in a very coherent-post-conducive manner right now (because I’ve been working a heckuva lot on Thaw as of late!  this is very good but it also means my writing brain is pretty fried!), so I think I’m going to break out the LISTS in order to detail why I’m having such an unabashedly awesome week.  (Is this bragging?  Is this shoving my happiness in your face when probably a lot of you are suffering the usual case of the Mondays and I’m sorry?  I hope not…this is just…chronicling.  A celebration.  It’s MARVELOUS.)

#1.  I have really awesome friends.

yayI’m not sure exactly why I’m just realizing this…I’ve known it for a while, certainly, but I guess I’ve never really fully internalized it.  Being around other girls my age, though, and hearing about spats and drama and huge fallings-out with their “friends” is definitely making me more appreciative.  I don’t know that I’ve ever been in a fight with a friend.  They’re all just too awesome.  And we all respect and love each other and are all really smart and have the same weird sense of humor and it’s just amazing.  I wasn’t aware of how rare this was until lately, and I am SO THANKFUL.  I LOVE YOU ALL, GUISE.

romione

One of my friends and I have recently started a weekly running thing (well–I say weekly–meaning it’s happened once and there are plans to do it again the following week) where we talk and we sort of run but there’s no pressure to really be speedy but we cover a lot of distance and last week we did 6 miles, which I think was actually the longest run of my life.  Granted, we definitely didn’t run for the entirety of it, but it was still very impressive to my mind.  And the talking and the repetitive exercise has been really therapeutic and happy-inducing and gah I love her.

#2.  Lately I have been conversing with an extremely smart dude with an overall pleasing aesthetic.  *giggles shyly and brings shirt collar up to hide face*

aww david tennant gif

#3.  I AM GOING TO SEE SARAH KAY PERFORM IN SEATTLE ON MARCH 1ST. (!!!)  If you don’t know–I’ll skip the shaming that you really deserve–Sarah Kay, as mentioned in this post, is my favorite spoken word poet ever and she’s pretty young and infinitely inspiring and her poem B was really one of the things that helped pull me out of my 7th-grade depression and disordered eating.  It is so beautiful and she is so beautiful and everything is sugar and rainbows and happiness because SHE’S PERFORMING IN SEATTLE AND I’LL ACTUALLY BE ABLE TO SEE HER IN REAL LIFE AND GET AN ADVANCED COPY OF HER BOOK AND THE ANGELS WILL DESCEND FROM THE HEAVENS AND CROON SWEETLY WHILE STRUMMING HARPS OF COTTON CANDY.

Her website is called Que Será, Será, which is both a pun on her name (Kay, Sarah, sera) and is a saying that, translated, roughly means “what will be, will be”.  (If you were alive in the 60s you probably know this, because Wikipedia informs me that it was also a pretty popular song back then, and one I think I’ve heard at least once on some Netflix show or other.)  I can’t express how much I love this.

(I knew there was a very good reason for not asking anyone to the Sadie Hawkin’s dance that night!  Good job, TGITO.  Such a prescient decision on your part.)

What’s your MARVELOUS today?

5 thoughts on “Marvelous in My Monday: Que Será, Será

  1. I would definitely bake you a cake if it would be possible for me to actually send it intact to you via mail…Which I doubt it would be, unless you want a moldy and/or destroyed cake. How about you just make yourself a cake instead, OK?? Ah, I am very happy to hear about the “extremely smart dude with an overall pleasing aesthetic,” and I hope you continue to speak about him on the blog–in a discreet and vague way, of course, since you don’t want to invade his privacy or reveal too much of your personal life 😉 Unless you WANT to, of course. I hope those past two sentences don’t sound extremely creepy and weird, since that wasn’t my intention. Wow, the crazy thing is that I will be in Seattle on March 1st as well!! I am visiting the west coast with my family on spring break, and since I recently got accepted into Cornish College of the Arts as a transfer student, I will be taking a tour of the college on March 1st–what a strange coincidence. It sounds as though you are very excited (maybe an understatement?) to hear Sarah Kay perform, and I hope you have a wonderful time at the event 🙂

    • I WILL bake myself a cake soon! I deserve a cake. I’m fabulous. 😀 Sarah Kay was fabulous, too, just for the record–I’ll probably blog about the performance, but who knows. It was like basking in the undiluted sunshine from the heavens.
      I also probably WILL continue to talk about the extremely smart dude with an overall pleasing aesthetic, and probably keep referring to him as such. ESDOPA shall be the acronym. 😉

  2. I’ve never had much luck with female friends till recently. I’ve always had male friends, but now that I’m older, I am trying to make more girlfriends.

    The guy I’m into looks like BJ Penn, the MMA fighter… haha.

    • Guy friends do tend to be lower-drama, I’ll give you that. 🙂 I think the key is to scope out the right girlfriends, who’ll help to keep you afloat rather than drowning you in their own emotional baggage, and let you do likewise. They’re out there!

What say you?